

2024 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

1100 – 16th May 2024

Medal of Distinction

The Institution's Medal of Distinction for papers published in the 2023 Transactions is awarded to Hyeong Jin Kim, Sang Min Park, Giles Thomas and Jeom K Paik for their paper *Solid Rubber Fenders to Prevent Structural Damage in a Low-speed Collision Between A Ship-Shaped Offshore Installation and a Shuttle Tanker Working Side-By-Side in Offloading Operation.*

Jeom Paik Prize

The Jeom Kee Paik Prize for the best paper on the subject of structures, published by an author under the age of 35 in the 2023 Transactions is awarded to Hyeong Jin Kim and Sang Min Park for their paper Solid Rubber Fenders to Prevent Structural Damage in a Lowspeed Collision Between a Ship-Shaped Offshore Installation and a Shuttle Tanker Working Side-by-Side in Offloading Operation.

W H C Nicholas Prize

The W H C Nicholas Prize for the best paper on a design related topic published by an author under the age of 35 in the 2023 Transactions is awarded to Astrid Solheim, Sigurd S. Pettersen and Jose J G Agis for their paper *Early Stage Decisions in Marine Systems Design for Deep-Sea Mining*.

Wakeham Prize

The Wakeham Prize for the best general paper published in the 2023 Transactions by an author under the age of 35 is awarded to Ícaro Aragão Fonseca and Felipe Ferrari de Oliveira for their paper *Open Framework for Digital Twin Ship Data: Case Studies on Handling of Multiple Taxonomies and Navigation Simulation.*

Pyrgotelis Zoitos Award

The Pyrgotelis Zoitos Award, sponsored by Cyprus Marine and Maritime Institute, for the best general paper published in the 2023 Transactions by an author under the age of 35, is awarded to Jean-Baptiste Souppez and Awotwe Tabbi Wilberforce for their paper *The Conceive Design Implement Operate (CDIO) Initiative - An Engineering Pedagogy Applied To The Education Of Maritime Engineers.*



Calder Prize

The Calder Prize for the best paper published in the 2023 Transactions by an author(s) under the age of 35 on the subject of small or high-speed craft is awarded to Tarik Taspinar for his paper *Optimisation of Voyage Speed using Genetic Algorithm Approach.*

David Goodrich Award

The David Goodrich Prize for the best paper presented at the 2023 Warships Conference is awarded to Anthony Burnett and Charles MacLeod for their presentation of the paper In-Process Ultrasonic Inspection During Fusion Welding of Large-Scale Fabrications.

Ian Telfer Prize

The Ian Telfer Prize for the best paper published in the 2023 Transactions on energy or the environment related issues, by an author under the age of 35, is awarded to Daehee Seong for their paper *Fracture Safety of Liquefied Natural Gas Tank In Cryogenic Conditions*.

RINA – LR Maritime Safety Award

The Maritime Safety Award, sponsored by the Institution and Lloyd's Register, is presented to an individual, company or organisation which has made a significant technological contribution to improving maritime safety or the protection of the maritime environment.

This year the Maritime Safety Award is presented to Orca AI for their <u>SeaPod</u> lookout unit. The ORCA SeaPod demonstrates a step change in technology which can improve safety across a wide range of maritime vessels by its integrated machine vision and AI system. Additionally it can benefit the environment by reducing collisions with sea mammals which can be identified by its powerful cameras.

The judges took into consideration the fact that the attributes of the technology, such as reducing crew workload by helping object identification, particularly in congested waters and bad visibility, smart alarms for collision avoidance, offer safety benefits across a wide spectrum of scenarios. Also the use of AI in the system will allow the technology to evolve in the future.



RINA – BP Eily Keary Award

The Royal Institution of Naval Architects is committed to ensuring that all individuals, regardless of gender, faith or ethnicity, have equal opportunity to participate fully in all the Institution's activities. The Institution also seeks to encourage such equality of opportunity and involvement throughout the global maritime industry.

The annual Eily Keary Award is sponsored by BP and recognises the contribution by an individual, organisation or part of an organisation to increasing equality, diversity and inclusion in their sector of the maritime industry.

This year the Eily Keary Award is presented to David Foote (Babcock) for his dedication in advocating for Neurodiversity in the Maritime Defence and Shipbuilding Sector.

The judging panel recognises that David is to be applauded for going above and beyond the responsibilities of his day job to make a positive difference in our industry. Neurodiversity is not a topic that is well-understood but it impacts a lot of people (estimated 15-20% of the population): Raising awareness and taking action in this area is a significant achievement and gives considerable benefit both to individuals, organisations and our industry. David Foote's efforts in championing neurodiversity both at local and national levels enables individuals to fulfil their potential and allows the industry to make the most of the available resources and understand the value that neurodiverse individuals bring.

Peter Contraros Award

The Peter Contraros award for the best paper on Strength, Safety or Reliability of Marine Structures by an undergraduate or postgraduate student is awarded to Dimitris G. Georgiadis for his paper Stochastic geometric imperfections of plate elements and their impact on the probabilistic ultimate strength assessment of plates and hull-girders.

The judging panel considered that "the study presents a novel approach for modelling the inherent uncertainties of initial geometric imperfections found at the plates of ships. It assesses their impact on the ultimate strength from a probabilistic point of view. The approach is examined in a case study of a VLCC tanker midship section in extreme sagging condition. The findings are validated against previous studies and showcase tangible improvements against the conventional "hungry-horse" and the theoretical "buckling-mode" imperfection models."